Flagler Schools – Monday March 25th, 2024, Flagler Schools, in partnership with local sponsors and the Flagler Education Foundation, held their annual teacher of the year celebration and dinner at Channel Side, Palm Coast.


The event is possible year after year, thanks to local sponsors: Flagler Schools, Flagler Education Foundation, SouthState, Quantum Electrical, Pierson Fern and Greens LLC, 4C’s Trucking and Excavation, Graduation Rhodes Services, The Fitzgerald Performing Arts Center Dolphin Printing and Designs Inc, Flagler Palm Coast Kiwanis and Cady Studios.


Among those in attendance to support the honored staff was the board of the Flagler Palm Coast Kiwanis Club, School Board members Will Furry and Cheryl Massaro, Flagler Schools Superintendent LaShakia Moore, and Flagler Education Foundation Director Teresa Rizzo.


The evening was an elegant night out at Channel Side with dinner, drinks, and dessert, allowing the honored staff a beautiful night of celebration for all of their incredibly hard work. The Honorees are listed below.

Principal of the Year: Jessica DeFord – Belle Terre Elementary School

Assistant Principal of the Year: Sara Novak – Matanzas High School

Teacher of the Year:

Melissa Atkinson-Brock – Bunnell Elementary

Vanessa Ajayi – Belle Terre Elementary

Catherine Jerrells – Buddy Taylor Middle

Maria Godin-Faircloth – Flagler Palm Coast High

Bruce Winters – Flagler Technical College

Erica Babcock – Indian Trails Middle

James Thrall – iFlagler

Kay Feist – Matanzas High

Chris Knox – Old Kings Elementary

Allison Kucharski – Rymfire Elementary

Annette Clemons – Wadsworth Elementary

Employee of the Year:

Madelaine Martínez Ortega – Bunnell Elementary

Lisa Meade – Belle Terre Elementary

Jimmy Sorrentino – Buddy Taylor Middle

Nathalie Piedrahita – Custodial Services

Lina Chhay – Food Services

Ginger Smith – Flagler Palm Coast High

Allison Castirubi – Flagler Technical College

Tony Coastes – Government Services Building

Bedie Barnes – iFlagler

McKenzie Carter – Indian Trails Middle

Maryann Linac – Mantanzas High

Alicia Willis – Old Kings Elementary

Ron Cacciolfi – Plant Services

Lillian Delgado – Rymfire Elementary

Dawne Gilpin – Technology/IS

Grace De Oliveira – Transportation Services

Cassie Bennett – Wadsworth Elementary

Rookie of the Year:

Haley Eubanks – Bunnell Elementary

Selah Garçon – Belle Terre Elementary

Megan Kisner – Buddy Taylor Middle

Ashlyn Wilkerson – Flagler Palm Coast High

Hannah Anderson – Indian Trails Middle

Janel Walker – Matanzas High

Brian Seijo – Old Kings Elementary

Meghan Mazie – Rymfire Elementary

Andrea Puckering – Wadsworth Elementary